C of E Park
For a peaceful walk, visit C of E Park. The park was once the campus for the former College of Emporia (C of E), which occupied the space from 1882 until closing in 1974. The College’s historic 1929 administration building, Kenyon Hall, still exists in the park. Kenyon Hall has been renovated into senior living apartments, but retains its original Tudor Gothic style architecture. A complete history of Kenyon Hall and its renovation is available at kenyonheights.com.
The college’s Anderson Memorial Library also still exists on the site. It has been recently restored and is currently for sale or lease. The library was built in 1901 and designed by architect Charles Squires. Both Kenyon Hall and Anderson Memorial Library offer stunning views of historic architecture from the park’s walking trail.